The memory of medical provision in Tenterden prior to the 1920s is hazy but what is well remembered is that Tom Taylor-Jones arrived in 1929 (joining Dr Arnold Cole) and stayed for 50 years. Initially, he had only three tablets available, a blue one, a pink one and a purple one. It is stunning to consider how many different preparations have become available to us over the last 90 years.
The practice, in the early years of the 1900s, operated out of West Cross House in the High St. Intriguingly the partners rented rooms in Harley St. (to manage their London based patients) and one afternoon each week one of the partners (Tom Taylor-Jones or Colin Turner) travelled up to town to provide this service. In 1959 the practice was offered the chance to build a surgery in the grounds of Ivy Court House at the east end of the High St and Ivy Court became one of the very first purpose built surgeries in the country.